Official Bob Marley Merch

Kaya | Black 2xLP Vinyl


Incl. VAT, Excluding Shipping

Bob Marley - Kaya | Black 2xLP Vinyl
12" (€28.90)

Please select an option.

Add to Cart

More Information

On August 29, The Marley Family, Island Records, and UMe will collectively proclaim the sun is shining in celebration of 40 years of Kaya, Bob Marley & The Wailer? historic March 1978 release. This most special anniversary edition will feature Stephen Ragga Marley’s exciting and vibrant new Kaya 40 mixes of all ten tracks from the original album alongside its original mixes in 2CD and 2LP configurations.

Recorded in London concurrently with the material that ultimately comprised 197?s Exodus? a record proclaimed by Time Magazine in 1999 to be the Best Album of the 20th Century’s Kaya is the perfect sonic-sibling bookend that shares all the joy, spirit, and literal DNA of some of Marley’s most groundbreaking material. Kaya contains a number of the most enduring, heartfelt songs in the entire Marley canon, including “Is This Love“, “Easy Skanking” and “Sun Is Shining“.

Stephen’s goal in mixing Kaya 40 was to create a balance that drew heavily from the original versions. Using Bob’s vocals from demos from original Kaya sessions that were recorded at different tempos, Stephen synched the vocals with alternate takes and layered it over different instrumental arrangements. Stephen tried to keep the flavor as authentic as possible. To mix the album, he used a similar minimal approach, basing his version heavily off the classic analog concepts they used in the 1970s.

Track List:

  1. Easy Skanking
  2. Kaya
  3. Is This Love
  4. Sun Is Shining
  5. Satisfy My Soul
  6. She’s Gone
  7. Misty Morning
  8. Crisis
  9. Running Away
  10. Time Will Tell
  11. Easy Skanking (Stephen Marley Kaya 40 Mix)
  12. Kaya (Stephen Marley Kaya 40 Mix)
  13. Is This Love (Stephen Marley Kaya 40 Mix)
  14. Sun Is Shining (Stephen Marley Kaya 40 Mix)
  15. Satisfy My Soul (Stephen Marley Kaya 40 Mix)
  16. She’s Gone (Stephen Marley Kaya 40 Mix)
  17. Misty Morning (Stephen Marley Kaya 40 Mix)
  18. Crisis (Stephen Marley Kaya 40 Mix)
  19. Running Away (Stephen Marley Kaya 40 Mix)
  20. Time Will Tell (Stephen Marley Kaya 40 Mix)

Related Products